Tags

, ,

What’s your routine when you got to bed at night. Brush your teeth? Set your alarm? Charge your iPhone?

I do the first two things, but I don’t charge my iPhone. I also don’t switch it off, because I use it as my alarm clock. So, the last thing I do before going to bed at night is tell my iPhone I’m going on an airplane.

20111203-094737.jpg

Why do I want my iPhone to think I’m jetting off to somewhere exotic? Well, when I’m asleep at night I don’t need to receive calls, texts or emails. I don’t need push notifications that someones commented on my Facebook status. All I need my phone to do is work as an alarm clock, use as little battery as possible overnight and remind me of calendar or to do items.

Switching on the airplane mode does this. It means all the wifi, 3G, Bluetooth and other cellular chips are put to sleep. I’ve gone to bed with 5% battery an woke up in the morning with 4%.

What do you do before going to bed at night? Please keep the suggestions clean.